The internet played a pivotal role during the protests of the Arab Spring in 2010-2011. With the 10th edition of RightsCon set to launch online from June 7-11, 2021, Access Now is looking back on milestones from the past decade of the digital age. Join us for a virtual conversation to explore the evolution of the digital space from a tool of mobilization to one of repression. speakers will reflect on the past 10 years, discuss challenges of censorship, social media and surveillance, and outline possible future strategies to reclaim the internet as an open, free, and safe space ten years post-Arab Spring.

On February 17, 14:30 UTC, 9:30 am EST, 5:30 PM Baghdad time, tune into live online event and join experts on the ground as they look to the future of the internet in the MENA region. There will also be an opportunity for Q&A in the live chat, so bring your questions!

Please note, the session will be available in Arabic after the live event.

Speakers:
Libya Idres, Editor-in-Chief at BBC Media Action
Rasha Abdullah, Professor of Journalism and Mass Communication, The American University in Cairo
Dia Kayyali, Associate Director of Advocacy at Mnemonic
Mohamad Najem, Executive Director of SMEX
Fouad Abdelmoumni, Moroccan human rights activist
Maryam Al-Khawaja, Bahraini human rights defender
Natalia Krapiva, Tech Legal Counsel at Access Now
and more!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *